What mod first??

Anything Triton related

What mod first??

Postby Yeahright on Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:15 pm

I am new to the Triton scene, I have had a plethera of 4x4s but for the first time I am confused on which mods to do and in what order. I have 5 mods I want to do, the car will be a family tourer, and a daily driver.
The car is a 2008 GXLR 3.2 auto with a flexiglass flexisport canopy.
The 5 mods are,
1. 2 inch Lift
2. 265 Mickey thompson MTZs
3. Snorkel
4. Bullbar (which one, there are lots to choose from)
5. Sidesteps
I know there are different mods for differrent purposes and big variables on the fitment of mods, but I would like info from Triton owners, who have the mods I am talking about and know Tritons.
I just want to hear diffrent opinions and diffrent reasons for those mods based on knowlege of tritons and how the mods have benifited individuals.

Thanks
Yeahright
Yeahright

Re: What mod first??

Postby greeny03 on Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:21 pm

A lift would be the first on the list if it was my decision. Makes the car nicer to drive and when you get bigger rubber you will appreciate it.
VR Triton
greeny03

Postby Cowboy Dave on Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:26 pm

These are all pretty personal preferences mate and it really does depend where you're driving and where the truck is going to go.

If you're still on the stock suspension that gear is probably shot already so I'd do that first, with safety in mind.

After that I think I'd do tyres, although again that's on an assumption that the existing ones might be getting a bit long in the tooth by now. Not sure I'd be putting MTZs on a daily driver/tourer though unless you're doing a lot of unsealed roads.

The others depend where you are - if you're doing a lot of dirt and river crossings then the snorkel, otherwise I'd do the bullbar and then the other two in whatever order.