09Andot's Triton on a budget!

Want to show off what you've done to your rig? or have a custom project to show? Post it up here!

09Andot's Triton on a budget!

Postby 09andot on Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:42 am

Hi all,

I've been enjoying this forum for a fair while now, and it has helped me hugely throughout my ownership of the Triton so far. Whilst I haven't had a lot to contribute so far I've been slowly making small modifications to the Triton and decided it was time I put it all up here to show what I have done and hopefully help others to decide what to do and what not to do! Please note I am a uni student so the inflow of money is pretty slow, which explains why it's taken me almost 2 years to get where I am now haha!

I'll kick this off with a photo of the Triton when I bought it. It's a 2009 manual MN GLX, and was bought from Pickles Auctions with 100,000kms in May 2012.

Click to view larger picture

Straight off the bat it had an ARB commercial bullbar and Canopy, which was a good start.

Next up it needed new tyres, so I went with Bf Goodrich A/T 265/75r16 with some 16x7 Sunraysia rims. With that I decided that some flairs would look good, so I purchased some aftermarket GLXR flairs off Ebay and fitted them.

Out of interest, for those of you on a tight budget like me I definitely would not recommend parallel import tyres. This is based purely on my experience with this set of tyres, but since the day I purchased them they have given me grief. They do not stay balanced for more than a week and yes I have visited several tyre shops and mechanics, and the ride is unusually harsh with heaps of feedback through the steering wheel. Based on this I would say that rather than saving $100 a corner buying imports, spend the extra and get them from a reputable dealer.